Utah Continuing Medical Education Credit Requirements

Utah required number of CME credits per year(s) 40 credits / 2 years
Utah State-Mandated CME Content/Additional Notes Six hours may be from Division of Occupational and Professional Lic.
Utah RN Required number of CE credits per year(s) Renewal of an RN license requires one of the following every 2 years: 30 contact hours, OR 200 practice hours and 15 contact hours, OR 400 practice hours.
Utah LPN Required number of CME credits per year(s) Renewal of an LPN license requires one of the following every 2 years: 30 contact hours, OR 200 practice hours and 15 contact hours, OR 400 practice hours.
Utah APRN Required number of CME credits per year(s) N/A
ANCC accreditation accepted? Yes
CE for Specialty:

Athletic Training

Licenses must be renewed on a biennially basis on May 31st of odd-numbered years.
CE for Specialty:

Audiology/SLP

CE: 20 Contact Hours must be completed each 2 year renewal period.
CE for Specialty: Dietetics/Nutrition There is no continuing education requirement.
CE for Specialty:

Emergency Medical Services

Utah has a four year licensure period.

CE Requirements for EMTs and Paramedics

                                                           

EMT: 98 hours; 30 hours must be practical hands-on training.                             

AEMT: 108 hours; 35 hours must be practical hands-on training.

Paramedic: 128 hours; 42 hours must be practical hands-on training.

CE for Specialty:

Laboratory Technology

There are no Continuing Education requirements.
CE for Specialty:

Massage Therapy

There are no Continuing Education requirements.

Licenses must be renewed by May 31st of each odd-numbered year. (e.g.; May 31st, 2013.)

CE for Specialty:

Medicine and Surgery

CE: 40 Contact Hours must be completed every two years with at least 20 of the Hours being Category I credits.

Licenses must be renewed every two years.

CE for Specialty:

Occupational Therapy

CE Requirements:

No continuing education requirement.

CE for Specialty:

Pharmacy

30 hours of continuing education must be completed by September 30 of odd numbered years. 12 hours must be obtained through attendance at live or technology enabled participation lectures, seminars or workshops, a minimum of 15 hours must be in drug therapy or patient management. 1 hour must be in pharmacy law or ethics.  Home study must be approved by ACPE. 12 live hours are required.

ACPE-approved courses for Pharmacy Technicians end in the letter “T”. ACPE-approved courses pharmacists (only) end in the letter “P”.  Courses ending in the letter “P” cannot be used to meet pharmacy technician CE requirements.

CE for Specialty:

Pharmacy Technician

20 hours of continuing education must be completed biennially. 1 hour must be in pharmacy law or ethics. 8 live hours are also required. Home study must be approved by ACPE.

Licenses expire September 30th of odd- numbered years (i.e.: 2015;2017).

CE for Specialty:

Physical Therapy

CE Requirements:

PT and PTA licenses expire May 31st of every odd year.

40 contact hours required biennially for PTs; 20 for PTAs.

Must include 3 hours of ethics or law.  No more than 50% of continuing education can be taken through online courses.

CE for Specialty:

Psychology

48 hours of continuing education must be completed every renewal period. All licensees must complete 6 hours in ethics/law.

Licenses must be renewed biennially. The deadline for renewal is September 30th of even-numbered years.

CE for Specialty:

Radiology Technology

CE per license:

Radiologic Technologist: 16 hours

Radiology Practical Technologist: 10 hours

CE must be related to radiology technology.

Renewal happens on May 31st of odd numbered years.

CE for Specialty:

Respiratory Therapy

There is no continuing education requirement.
CE for Specialty:

Social Work

Social Service Workers Requirements: twenty (20) hours continuing education. Ten (10) hours of home study permitted.

LSCW Requirements: forty (40) hours continuing education. Fifteen (15) hours of home study permitted.

Three 3 hours of ethics continuing education required.

Social Work licenses expire September 30 of even years.

Utah CME and CE Education

Note: All information should be verified with licensing board

Resources: http://www.acep.org/| http://ce.nurse.com/ | http://about.continuingeducation.com/