Nevada Continuing Medical Education Credit Requirements

 

Nevada required number of CME credits per year(s) 40 credits / 2 years
Nevada State-Mandated CME Content/Additional Notes Ethics (2 credits), 20 credits in specialty; other 18 credits can be any in Category 1; 4 credits in WMD/ bioterrorism (new applicants only) prevention of transmission of infectious agents through safe injection practices
Nevada RN Required number of CE credits per year(s) For relicensure, Nevada RNs and LPNs must have completed 30 hours of nursing-related continuing education in the previous 24 months, and must have completed the state-required bioterrorism course.
Nevada LPN Required number of CME credits per year(s) For relicensure, RNs and LPNs must have completed 30 hours of nursing-related continuing education in the previous 24 months, and must have completed the state-required bioterrorism course.
APRN Required number of CME credits per year(s) N/A
ANCC accreditation accepted? Yes
CE for Specialty:

Athletic Training

No continuing education is required. Licenses must be renewed annually by June 30th.
CE for Specialty:

Audiology/SLP

CE: 15 Contact Hours must be completed annually.
CE for Specialty: Dietetics/Nutrition There are no continuing education requirements.
CE for Specialty:

Emergency Medical Services

Licenses expire annually.

CE Requirements for EMTs and Paramedics
Emergency Medical Responder: 20 hours                                                      

EMT and Advanced EMT: 30 hours                                           

Paramedic: 40 hours

CE for Specialty:

Laboratory Technology

CE: 10 Contact Hours must be completed annually.
CE for Specialty:

Massage Therapy

CE: 12 Contact Hours must be completed annually.
CE for Specialty:

Medicine and Surgery

CE: 40 Contact Hours must be completed if licensed during the first six months of the biennial period of registration. 30 Hours if licensed during the second six months of the biennial period of registration. 20 Hours if licensed during the third six months of the biennial period of registration. And 10 Hours if licensed during the fourth six months of the biennial period of registration.

2 hours of Medical Ethics, 4 hours of Bioterrorism/WMD. Courses required to be AMA PRA category 1. CMEs must be AMA Category I, classified by the AAPA as Category I (for PAs) of NSBME Board approved.

Licenses must be renewed every two years.

CE for Specialty:

Occupational Therapy

CE Requirements:

A minimum of 10 contact hours of continuing education is required annually. Documentation is required to renew or reinstate a license. Licenses expire June 30th, however the renewal period is April – May, annually.

CE for Specialty:

Pharmacy

30 hours of continuing education must be completed by October 31 of odd numbered years. Pharmacists can attend one full day of a board meeting.  In addition to the one hour of law it will also provide three hours of acceptable CE and certificates will be handed out at the meeting. Pharmacists can attend a live program where someone from the board is presenting the information.  We will post those to the web site as we become aware of them. Home study is permitted.

Exempt from CE for the first 2 years after graduation only.

ACPE-approved courses for Pharmacy Technicians end in the letter “T”. ACPE-approved courses pharmacists (only) end in the letter “P”.  Courses ending in the letter “P” cannot be used to meet pharmacy technician CE requirements.

CE for Specialty:

Pharmacy Technician

1 hours of an approved Nevada Law program is the only requirement.
CE for Specialty:

Physical Therapy

CE Requirements:

PTs and PTAs renew annually on July 31st.

CE: 1.5 CEUs or 15 contact hours for each annual license renewal period for PTs and PTAs. Therefore, courses can only be awarded a maximum of 1.5 CEUs, regardless of the length of the course.

Nevada only allows 0.8 CEUs or 8 contact hours for non-clinical courses to be used towards the renewal of a license.

CE for Specialty:

Psychology

30 hours of continuing education must be completed every renewal period. All licensees must complete at least 6 hours in scientific/ professional ethics and standards and common areas of professional misconduct.

Licenses must be renewed biennially. The deadline for license renewal is January 1st of each odd numbered year.

CE for Specialty:

Radiology Technology

Mammography – 15 hours

At least six of the continuing education units required shall be related to each mammographic modality used by the technologist.

Renewal happens every three years.

CE for Specialty:

Respiratory Therapy

20 hours of continuing education are due on July 1st of each odd year.

60% must be from an approved educational source directly related to the practice of respiratory care.  2 hours of this 60% must be in medical ethics.

40% must be in any program approved by the AARC for CRCE or any program of another organization approved by the Board.

CE for Specialty:

Social Work

LSW and LASW Renewal: thirty (30) contact hours. Two (2) hours must relate to ethics in the practice of social work and ten (10) hours must be in the field of practice of the licensee.              

LCSW and LISW Renewal: thirty-six (36) contact hours. Three (3) hours must relate to ethics in the practice of social work and twelve (12) hours must be in the field of practice of the licensee.

Continuing education requirements are due bi-annually.  License renewals are due annually by the last day of the month of your birth. You will receive a renewal form in the mail 45 days prior to your renewal date.

 
Nevada CE and CME Education

Note: All information should be verified with licensing board

Resources: http://www.acep.org/| http://ce.nurse.com/ | http://about.continuingeducation.com/