Delaware Continuing Medical Education Credit Requirements
|Delaware required number of CME credits per year(s)
|40 credits / 2 years
|Delaware State-Mandated CME Content/Additional Notes
|Delaware RN required number of CE credits per year(s)
|Registered Nurse (RN) licenses expire on February 28, May 31, or September 30 of odd years (2015, 2017) RNs are required to complete 30 contact hours every 2 years. Three (3) of the 30 hours must be in the area of substance abuse.
|Delaware LPN required number of CME credits per year(s)
|Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) licenses expire on February 28 of even years (2016, 2018). Delaware LPNs are required to complete 24 contact hours every 2 years. Three (3) of the 24 hours must be in the area of substance abuse.
|APRN Required number of CME credits per year(s)
|ANCC accreditation accepted?
|CE for Specialty: Athletic Training
|30 hours (or 3 CEU’s) of continuing education are required for every biennial license renewal. The required CEU’s shall be completed no later than January 31st of every odd-numbered year and every 2 years after such date. Effective as of the license renewal period beginning February 1st, 2013, the required hours shall include 0.2 units of Ethics and completion of a CPR course, which will count for 0.1 unit. 1 CEU will be given for every 10 hours of an approved continuing education course. (1 contact hour= .1 CEU)
|CE for Specialty: Audiology/SLP
|CE: 30 Contact Hours must be completed over the two year renewal period. Each renewal period ends on July 31st of years ending in an odd number. (e.g., 2013) There is no CE requirement for a license issued for less than one year. If a license would cover more than one year, but less than 2 years, the licensee is required to obtain 15 CEs or one-half of the required total hours. Single License: Individuals with a license in only one (1) area of specialty must obtain a minimum of 30 CEs each two-year license renewal period. Dual License: Individuals with licenses in two (2) areas of specialty must obtain a minimum of 30 CEs during each two-year license renewal period, with 15 CEs obtained in each specialty area. One course may be split between specialty areas to fulfill multiple CE requirements. Content must be shown to be relevant to those areas.
|CE for Specialty: Dietetics/Nutrition
|30 hours of continuing education required: A maximum of 15 CPE hours shall be allowed for self-study programs. A maximum of 6 CPE hours shall be allowed for exhibits. A maximum of 10 CPE hours shall be allowed for poster presentations. Licenses expire on May 31st of odd years.
|CE for Specialty: Emergency Medical Services
|12 hours of continuing education is required by EMTs.
|CE for Specialty: Laboratory Technology
|There are no Continuing Education requirements.
|CE for Specialty: Massage Therapy
|CE: Massage/bodywork therapists – 24 hours of approved CE must be completed over a two-year renewal period. CE: Massage technician – 12 hours of approved CE must be completed over a two-year renewal period. Massage and Bodywork licenses expire on August 31st of even numbered years. (e.g.; August 31st, 2012) NCBTMB-approved CE courses are automatically approved for content.
|CE for Specialty: Medicine and Surgery
|CE: 40 Contact Hours are required per registration period of CME in Category I courses approved by the American Medical Association or the American Osteopathic Association. A physician who is renewing his registration for the first time and who has been licensed to practice medicine in Delaware for more than one year shall be prepared to supply the Board with proof that he has completed twenty hours of continuing medical education in Category I courses. Licenses expire on March 31st of odd numbered years. (2013, 2015 etc.)
|CE for Specialty: Occupational Therapy
|CE Requirements: Occupational Therapists (OT) are required to complete 20 hours of continuing education in the 2 year period preceding the date the license expires. Occupational Therapy Assistants (OTA) are required to complete 20 hours of continuing education in the 2 year period preceding the date the license expires. Licenses for both Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants expire on July 31 on even-numbered years.
|CE for Specialty: Pharmacy
|30 hours of pharmacy continuing education must be completed September 30 of even numbered years. CE can be completed by any provider approved by ACPE or In-state organization which meets criteria approved by the Board. Home study is permitted. ACPE-approved courses for Pharmacy Technicians end in the letter “T”. ACPE-approved courses pharmacists (only) end in the letter “P”. Courses ending in the letter “P” cannot be used to meet pharmacy technician CE requirements.
|CE for Specialty: Pharmacy Technician
|No continuing education is required.
|CE for Specialty: Physical Therapy
|CE Requirements: Three CEU’s are required for every biennial license renewal for Physical Therapists, Physical Therapist Assistants, and Athletic Trainers. The required CEU’s shall be completed no later than January 31 of every odd-numbered year and every 2 years after such date. Effective as of the license renewal period beginning February 1, 2013, the required hours shall include 0.2 units of Ethics and proof of current CPR certification by the American Red Cross, American Heart Association, National Safety Council or other agency approved by the Board and posted on the Division of Professional Regulation’s website. Proof of current CPR certification will count for 0.1 CEU. One CEU will be given for every 10 hours of an approved continuing education course. (1 contact hour = .1 CEU).
|CE for Specialty: Psychology
|40 hours of continuing education must be completed every renewal period. Effective as of the license renewal period beginning August 1st, 2009, all Psychologists must complete 3 hours of continuing education in ethics. Delaware licenses must be renewed biennially. The license period extends from August 1st of the year of renewal to July 31st of the second year. Psychologist licenses and Psychological Assistant registrations expire on July 31st of odd years (i.e. 2013; 2015 etc.)
|CE for Specialty: Radiology Technology
|No CE required.
|CE for Specialty: Respiratory Therapy
|20 hours of continuing education are due biennially. Subject Matter: A minimum of 12 hours in Respiratory care science and practice and other scientific topics related thereto or Respiratory care education or Research in respiratory care and health care. The remaining 8 hours shall be in Management, administration and supervision in health care delivery or Social, economic, political, legal aspects of health care or Teaching health care and consumer health education or Professional requirements for a formal respiratory care program or a related field beyond those that were completed for the issuance of the original license. At least ten hours shall be from traditional programs attended either in person or remotely by the use of telecommunication technology that allows the attendee to interact with and ask questions of the presenter during the presentation. The remaining ten hours may be obtained in non-traditional programs in which the participant learns the material at their own pace and place of choosing and demonstrates their mastery of the course content by examination.
|CE for Specialty: Social Work
|Renewal: forty-five(45) hours of social work continuing education. Three (3) hours of ethics for mental health professionals. No more than ten (10) hours of continuing education credit from self-directed activity (teaching, research, preparation and/or presentation of professional papers and articles, and other activities specifically approved by the Board). All continuing education hours can be home study. Delaware social Work licenses expire January 31 of odd-numbered years. Initial Renewal: Licensed by July 1 of an odd-numbered year, thirty-five (35) hours of CE must be completed during the initial licensing period. Licensed between July 1 of an odd-numbered year and January 31 of an even-numbered year, must complete twenty-five (25) hours of CE during the initial licensing period. Licensed between February 1 of an even-numbered year and June 30 of that year, the licensee must complete fifteen (15) hours of CE during the initial licensing period. Licensed between July 1 of an even-numbered year and January 31 of an odd-numbered year, must complete five (5) hours of CE during the initial licensing period.
Note: All information should be verified with licensing board